Her last post. Your job? Say #GoodbyeToo @ SCVincent

Sue’s wisdom will live long after she has left us. RIP Sue we will miss you.

Barb Taub

Today Sue Vincent shared what may be her last blog post. It’s so like Sue that it’s a message of hope as well as gentle regret.

Sue has given so much and so freely—to family, friends, and uncounted thousands she’s touched online. This post of loss and love is deeply personal. But it’s also universal. The world has faced loss and grief on an unprecedented scale over the past year. Sue is part of that pandemic recording. It might not be the coronavirus that ultimately beats her (a far older and even more egalitarian cancer will be credited with that victory) but it played a lead role in delaying treatment which might have bought time.

So here’s my challenge. Please share this post. Please share a tweet and add names of those you’ve lost this past year. Because the world needs to remember every loss, every person whose death was…

View original post 511 more words

Story Resolutions: Mastering the Happy-Sad Ending – by Gilbert Bassey…

A great blog as I related it to A Year in the Life of Leah Brand as I didn’t want the usual tie up soppy happy ending but to leave the reader wondering. Did I do right or wrong? Who knows but it bothered a lot of people. The answer is in book 2, if you’fre curious. 🙂

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

on Writers Helping Writers:

It was 10pm, and I was trying to sleep when my door flew open and my sister came in, wailing like a wounded puppy. “Why did you kill him?”

I cleared the sleep from my eyes. “What the hell are you talking about?”

“Michael! You killed Michael!”

At that, I couldn’t help myself from laughing. Not a nice thing, I know.

Curiously, she went ahead to profess love for the story—particularly the ending that made her cry. Fascinating, right? My story was able to create such a strong emotional reaction because it avoided the safety of a happy ending and the depression of a sad ending. Instead, it opted for the more fulfilling happy-sad resolution.

Why Happy-Sad Endings?

Before we answer the question of why, let’s explore the story endings that we commonly see. To put it bluntly,

  • A sad ending is when the story ends…

View original post 47 more words

Smorgasbord Cafe and Bookstore – Reviews #Psychological Thriller Lucinda E. Clarke, #Thriller Alex Craigie,

Thank you so much Sally.

Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

Welcome to the Wednesday edition of the Cafe and Bookstore with recent reviews for authors on the shelves.

And the first book today with a review is A Year in the Life of  Deidre Flynn by Lucinda E. ClarkeAbout the book

Deidre is determined to protect her adopted niece Leah, but despite fleeing the country, the menacing threats continue.

They believe their enemies can’t reach them now, so who is behind the life-threatening attacks? The incidents escalate, each more horrifying than the last.

How can they fight back when they don’t know who the enemy is and they have no idea what they want.

A fast-moving, page-turning, psychological thriller that will leave you breathless, as once again, Leah is the victim of a cruel conspiracy that lurks in the shadows.

A gripping thriller for fans of Louise Jensen, Avery Bishop and Claire McGowan.

One of the recent…

View original post 690 more words

We’ve Got Mail—Nice, Nasty, and Just Plain Nutty. Writers Review Readers – by Ruth Harris…

Thoughts from the early days – two excellent articles.

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

on Anne R. Allen:

My encounters with reader mail go back a long way. My first job as a very young editor at Bantam included slogging through the slush pile and answering reader mail. No internet or email those days. Everything was done the old fashioned way — by hand.

I’ve written before about my adventures in the slush pile.

Reader mail was an entirely different learning curve. Generic mail received a polite form letter thanking the sender for his/her interest. Letters from readers wanting to contact writers were forwarded to the writer’s agent who would take it from there.

We received quite a bit of mail from prisoners whose return address included the name of the prison and the prisoner number. Without omnipresent TV and certainly no WIFI, reading was their main source of diversion. I responded via the usual form letter thanking them for their interest, and…

View original post 17 more words

Mayhem, Maria, & Music

Amazon

Three Against The World started life as a book my “cover girl” Maria, would be allowed to read. In a word, clean. It came before lockdown, but here she is, two years on, taking her “daily exercise”.

Maria’s mother dumped her on Richard’s doorstep claiming he was her father, and he didn’t tell Maria when he found out it was a mistake. Ben would never have forgiven him if he’d lost her.

Ben is the Jack Russell Terrier Richard adopted from a rescue centre and he is modelled on my own rescued Weimaraner. Not that she bites… or she hasn’t yet, but nobody has threatened me. It is she who taught me how clingy dogs who lose their homes can be. Even now, almost 6 years on, she values routine and gets scared if someone is missing for a few hours, and the only place she can be left…

View original post 282 more words

Is it Even Ethical? – Guest Post by, Barbara Spencer…

Another thought-provoking aspect on reviews

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

Amazon published a million books last year, does that mean that there were a million new writers, one person writing a million book (hardly likely) or many, many people for which the majority are on their second, third or even tenth book.Nevertheless, that’s an awful lot of people writing at a time when reading butts up against technology in the form of computer games, pop music, Netflix and reality shows.

When I think of the numbers now writing, I usually start humming the tune to ‘Stout Hearted Men’ which appeared in the film New Moon starring Nelson Eddy.

.

Give me some men who are stout-hearted men,

Who will fight, for the right they adore,

Start me with ten who are stout-hearted men,

And I’ll soon give you ten thousand more.

Shoulder to shoulder and bolder and bolder,

They grow as they go to the fore.

Then there’s nothing in…

View original post 1,388 more words

Indicted by the Goodreads Police

More unhappy news about reviews.

Frank Parker's author site

From time to time I take part in a Goodreads review round. The idea is that ten authors each offer a book to be reviewed. Four of the ten then review that book, within a set time. Within the round none of the ten has his or her book reviewed by someone whose book he or she is reviewing. Participants are supposed to inform the moderators if they have previously reviewed a book by another of the authors taking part. This enables the moderator to ensure that neither is assigned to review the other’s book.

It now appears, however, that the rule applies across all previous review groups. You are supposed to check all the reviews you have ever received. If one of them was from an author participating in this round, however long ago, then you should be aware that you are banned from posting a review of any…

View original post 339 more words

The 12 thank-you notes of Christmas

I was lookin g for a copy of this! Love it.

bluebird of bitterness

An oldie but goodie.

Dec. 25
My dearest darling Edward,
What a wonderful surprise! That sweet little partridge, in that lovely little pear tree; what an enchanting, romantic gift! Thank you, and bless you.
Your deeply loving
Emily

Dec. 26
My beloved Edward,
The two turtle-doves arrived this morning, and are cooing away in the pear tree as I write. I’m so touched and grateful!
With undying love,
Emily

Dec. 27
My darling Edward,
You do think of the most original presents! Who ever thought of sending anybody three French hens? Do they really come all the way from France? It’s a pity we have no chicken coops, but I expect we’ll find some. Anyway, thank you so much; they’re lovely.
Your devoted
Emily

Dec. 28
Dearest Edward,
What a surprise! Four calling birds arrived this morning. They are very sweet, even if they do call rather loudly — they…

View original post 555 more words