Bad reviews = good company! #1-starClassics #SundayBlogShare

To cheer us all yup when we see our 1* reviews 🙂

Barb Taub


gold starWhen I get a bad review…

I play the one-star game. It’s easy! Just take any classic work of literature, and check out its one-star reviews.

For example:

18135

“This book is the worst love story ever! Read Stephenie Meyer books!”~Sachi ❤ Review

Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare, 1595


1888

“P to-the-double-O P.”~ Ring Mah Bell’s review

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen, 1813


2657

“While the plot was very gripping and well-written, the book didn’t actually instruct me on how to kill a mockingbird. I bought this book intending to do away with this obnoxious bird that’s always sitting in my backyard and making distracting noises. I had hoped this book would shed some light on how to humanely dispose of the bird, but unfortunately it was this story about a lawyer and a falsely-accused criminal. As I said, the plot is great but nowhere in the book…

View original post 277 more words

4 thoughts on “Bad reviews = good company! #1-starClassics #SundayBlogShare

  1. ROFLOL! That last one is hilarious! Thanks for some great advice on how to deal with bad reviews. It’s good to know we’re far from being alone and how totally subjective they are. Beauty is truly in the eye of the beholder, or reader, as the case may be.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Everyone can’t be right Marcha – some have told me i write well, others didn’t get past the first chapter because the writing was so bad. I loved the Bible one as well – that reviewer has a point, it breaks all the rules of writing but is a #1 best seller in all languages.

    Like

  3. If I get a one star review I simply conclude that the person delivering it can’t read properly and didn’t understand the book as all the others have been four and five star. That’s not because I’m a spectacularly good writer, it’s just that most of the people reading my books seem to appreciate them. All I need now is a wider audience.

    On the other hand, if you have a list of good reviews and someone drops you a poor one, it can make other people question why this happened. With one of my books I had someone try to demolish it as a revenge attack for some constructive criticism that I gave on a manuscript (by invitation) that was not what the writer wanted. He hired someone else to post a bad review and then, rather stupidly, sent me a signed copy himself. I left the review where it was and it sold me 320 extra copies of the book!

    Sword blades can often have two cutting edges! J

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

