Dear Writer … it’s not all about you, ya know! – Reminder #5

Re-blogged thai.

Books: Publishing, Reading, Writing

In marketing, it’s said that a message must be repeated 7 times before people take action. Writers, here’s your #5 reminder …

I was going to write a blog post about social media and how I’ve been paring down my use of it, because I’m finding it to be not all that social or the best media for me at the moment. After discussing with a fellow author how disappointing Twitter is (and she cleverly described T. as “like a 4-lane highway at rush hour with cars bumper-to-bumper. It makes me nervous”), I realized what bothers me isn’t not being able to navigate and use Twitter properly, but more the barrage of Tweeps who constantly tweet: Look at me! Aren’t I clever! Buy my book!

Now I’m not saying that I don’t do some self-promotion on there, but I do try to balance that with tweets of value to others…

View original post 1,515 more words

4 thoughts on “Dear Writer … it’s not all about you, ya know! – Reminder #5

  1. The comments re social media certainly reflect my own experiences, and frustration. I too have recently stopped stressing about how much time I spend on ‘social media’. The idea of trimming down to the valuable resonates.

    Thank you Lucinda Clarke for re-blogging this article.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. One of the worst things about self publishing is the “Look at me and how my books are doing ” blurb. On the other hand if you stay quiet no one will know you or your books. It’s a very fine line between boasting and informing 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

