THE BIG TRIP XII – THE MARBLE MOUNTAINS – DIFFICULT KIDS

To be quite honest the Marble Mountains looked like any other mountains to me, but then we didn’t see where they were slicing bits off.  It’s a group of five mountains whose names represent the five elements. It’s a popular place for spiritual retreat and pilgrimage with several Buddhist pagodas, remnants of the Cham civilization and several natural caves inside the mountains formed by erosion, water and the passage of time.IMG_3406

Our cheerful, friendly guide took us to the bottom of the path and pointed skyward. I gasped, even if I’d not been fighting off the dreaded lurgy  a climb like that was just not in my repertoire. I watched in horror at some bouncy young things leaping up the mountain.

Then with a smile, he pointed to the lift shaft. Was I relieved! There were a few awkward moments as our guide explained that the cost of ascending in the lift was not included in the itinerary, in fact the only thing that wasn’t in the whole trip.

IMG_3403

I was prepared to scream, attack DH and do whatever it took to get into that lift. No way was I going to walk. So we coughed up and as it seemed a little mean to let the guide walk all the way up, we paid for him too.

This is the whitest Buddha I have ever seen and I’ll post both pics so you can see that it wasn’t just in the closer shot that it sparkled Omo dazzling white in the weak sunlight.

IMG_3410

IMG_3409

There was a pagoda up there of course

IMG_3407

IMG_3408

and you could go into the mountain itself where they had several small shrines and statues.  DH went into the cleft a lot further than I did.

IMG_3413

I don’t know if it’s anything to do with being a writer, but I have a huge sense of atmosphere and to me that day I was not getting good vibes at all. It would have not been my choice for a spiritual retreat.

marble mountain cave

marble mountain cave 2

IMG_3411

Then it was a trip round the workshops to watch the craftsmen and admire their skill before being whisked off to our next destination Hoi An.

IMG_3401

It was here that the bugs finally took over and got the better of me.

While George was busy reigning, or not, the new titled Duke and Duchess of Marlborough were busy building themselves a little cottage in the country.

BLENHEIM PALACE

No expense was spared, especially on the bedroom they made ready for the birth of Winston Churchill.

And there was no difference in the politicians they had in those days either. The Whig party got into power and immediately voted they could stay in power for seven years at a time. With George on their side – no point in taking a chance with the Tories who just might have tried to bring back James III from Paris – they remained the majority party in parliament for another half century. Not bad going for a political party.

Something else that wasn’t new either, King George and his son Prince George did not get on at all well, and I am reliably informed this had nothing to do with him confiscating the prince’s lap top when he refused to finish his homework.

 

4 thoughts on “THE BIG TRIP XII – THE MARBLE MOUNTAINS – DIFFICULT KIDS

  1. I didn’t like the atmosphere at Marble Mountain either, Lucinda. I went quite a long way into some of the caves and felt very uncomfortable. During the war the Vietnamese soldiers used tunnels there and from the top you can see down to where the Americans first landed.
    I’m sorry you got realy ill at Hoi An.

    Like

    • I am so glad you had bed vibes there as well, thought it was just me! I didn’t hear they had used the tunnels in the war there though. So itwasn’t the lurgy that made it feel creepy and sad and almost threatening.

      Like

Leave a Reply

