SAD ANNOUNCEMENT AND MOMENTOUS EVENTS IN CHARLES II REIGN

It is with great sadness that I have to announce that this will possibly be a weekly blog from now on. Life has found me and dragged me kicking and screaming into the real world. It’s that time of year when people eat together, drink together and generally chat together.

No longer can I live my hermit existence totally engrossed in my own world. Of course I love to meet up with my friends (as long as they talk about books) and go out for picnics (as long as they talk about marketing books) and get together for an evening of frivolity (as long as it’s all about Amazon algorhythms).

I think you get the drift.

For weeks I’ve not written a single word on my next work in progress, and I’m getting severe withdrawal symptoms. There are never enough hours in the day. If I had to do a pie chart of my daily activity at present, it would go something like this. (I’m not clever enough to actually draw one, so you will have to imagine it).

Getting out of bed, washing, dressing, showering, getting back into bed, reading etc 5%

Eating (although this does double up with reading emails and reading books) 5%

Checking sales figures, along with pages read and pre-order numbers 10%

Answering personal emails 5%

Blogging 2%

Answering Facebook emails 8%

Marketing and promoting 25%

Thinking of witty things to write on FB and other places 1%

Trying to work out new computer programmes eg graphic things and web pages etc 4%

Watching television 1%

Writing monthly column 1%

Thinking up new plot lines 10%

Interaction with the outside world 1%

Placating DH I am still alive and interesting and not that immersed in my writing / marketing 7%

Sleeping 15%

I’m sure you can see my problem. I’ll have to balance things out a little or I’ll become invisible in the local community and I’ll be looking for a cat to keep me company. It’s going to be a hard transition, but now the weather is cooler, everyone has come out of hibernation.

A couple of things to mention before our history lesson.

Firstly here is the link to a radio interview I did with Carol Graham who is a lovely caring person, winner of an award for all her work. We chatted about Walking over Eggshells and growing up with my dysfunctional mother. Thank you Carol for giving me a chance to share my story. I hope it will help others.

LINK   http://neverevergiveuphopenet.blogspot.ca/2015/09/your-life-has-meaning-you-are-more-than.html

Secondly, More Truth, Lies and Propaganda is on a Kindle Countdown from Tuesday 6th October if you want to pick up a cheap copy.

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00VF0S3RG       MTLP cover v4 small pic(3)http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00VF0S3RG

Back in time, without Facebook and the internet, people had lots more time to do things – like 4 hours to get dressed for dinner, several more hours eating and lots of time for court intrigues.

Poor Charles, everything went wrong in his reign. Beside the Great Plague, otherwise known as the Black Death, there was the Great Fire of London.

GREAST FIRE OF LONDON

This was set off by a baker in Pudding Lane (picture below)

McDonalds

who was fed up because people were not buying his burgers and so decided to wipe out all those who had survived the plague.

But all was not lost! There is always a bright side as it caused lots of work for the builders, including Sir Christopher Wren, who built a tiny chapel called St Paul’s.

St Paul's cathedral

We know ALL of this because of Samuel Pepys, who wrote down everything in his diaries, in case anyone hadn’t noticed the plague or the Great Fire.

samuel pepys

Samuel Pepys painted by Sir Godfrey Kneller in 1689

Till next time

5 thoughts on “SAD ANNOUNCEMENT AND MOMENTOUS EVENTS IN CHARLES II REIGN

  1. It is quite amazing that you should mention your interview with Carol Graham here today, as I actually listened to it LAST NIGHT. Well, 12:45 this morning if you want to be really accurate. I thoroughly enjoyed listening to you chat away. Now I can understand how you came to be on Radio – you’re a natural. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ann I adore radio, no one can see me and I can relax! I’ve always enjoyed being on air, except for that time with the bayonet pricking my neck, that wasn’t so cool!! And the other tricky time was when Mrs Bobbit had taken revenge on Mr Bobbit by removing his most precious possession. You try reading the news without giggling and then you want to kill the sound engineer as he wants to strike up a ‘serious’ conversation with you on the subject.

    Mary, not only does it rule our lives, but we even have to use precious brain cells remembering to plug them in to recharge them.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Just listened to your radio interview (should be writing but I just sat listening) and it was wonderful. Fascinating to hear your voice – not sure how I thought you would sound.
    It was excellent.

    Like

Leave a Reply

