REVIEWS, SHORT STORY BOOK AND MY FAVOURITE KING

So what rubbish am I going to bore you with this morning? I do console myself that there are lots of really well written blogs out there giving tons of great and useful advice on writing, publishing and even reading books! Well of course you know you won’t get anything like that here.

But just a quick aside. I would like to thank those people who have taken the time and effort to write reviews, not only for my books but for other authors as well. When I only read books before I started writing them, I occasionally wrote the odd review if I thought the book was exceptional, or if Amazon nagged me with a host of emails asking me to give my opinion of….  In those days I had no idea that you were not likely to be accepted by a promotional company if you did not have dozens of comments of a certain rating. You are persona non grata even if your book could rival Shakespeare for literary content and brilliance.

A group of authors are contributing to an anthology of short stories by be published to raise funds for the Macmillan nurses. I’ll keep you updated on the progress, but hopefully there will be lots of support for it – it’s for a really good cause.

Now to the serious stuff – our journey through history. We have come to my favourite king. Here is a clue….

He is no stranger to anyone. He was known for being a very strong king, cutting people’s heads off and having 6 wives.

HENRY VIII 2

Any idea? Yes, of course it’s Henry VIII. You notice they still have very little imagination with names – I’m sure he would sound more interesting as Cedric I, or Algernon I, or even Humperdinck I. But no we have yet another Henry, following seven kings all with the same name. As the young would say borrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrring.

Now if you get confused with all this wife stuff this is the little poem to learn – Divorced, beheaded, died, divorced, beheaded, died.

That’s the history of what happened to them but of course it doesn’t help identify who is who. It’s possible after these history lessons you will be more confused that ever, but that doesn’t matter.

Now before we look at the women in his life here is something you might not know about England’s most notorious king. As you might guess, kings were supposed to be big and powerful so that people would obey him and be good, faithful, hard working and king-fearing peasants.

Unfortunately Henry was a skinny lad so this would never do. He was actually forced to buy his 32 inch trousers from Marks and Spencers (he never went at sale time as that was beneath his dignity). But when it came to having his portrait painted he realized that this would never do, so he told his court gentlemen to collect all the pillows from around the palace and borrow some clothes from nearby fat people so he could appear big and important. That’s the reason we all have the image that Henry VIII was a large fat man.

Here is one more picture as a teaser for next week.

CATHERINE AND ANNEAll will be revealed next time.

2 thoughts on “REVIEWS, SHORT STORY BOOK AND MY FAVOURITE KING

Leave a Reply

