COUNTING AND EDWARD III

I am going to ask you all a huge favour. I have no idea how many people are reading these blogs and getting a good historical education which will stand you in good stead for the rest of your lives. You never know if you will be asked at a cocktail party which king died from a red hot poker, but you will be able to astound people with your expert knowledge.

Now once I finally get into my blog page (and believe me that is not an easy thing to do) when I hit the publish button it links it to Facebook and to Twitter. However, and this is the puzzling bit, when I check out the WordPress stats there are hardly any views.

OK, I’m a grown up and I can cope with that, but then I get a lot of feedback by pm and messages and verbally etc from lots of different people telling me they are enjoying the blog. So, I’m not sure if the WordPress stats only count the readers who log on directly and ignore those who visit via Facebook or Twitter. So, the huge favour is, if you are reading this can you please leave a comment either here, or on FB just to let me know you have been here, and how you got here? I would really appreciate that.

So on with British history and we are about to meet Edward III. (You would think they could have been a bit more creative with the names wouldn’t you?) That’s something severely lacking right up to the present day. Personally, I would be really upset if my parents had named me after a king who had his head chopped off, even if Charles is a very nice name. Now we will have a 7th George on the throne sometime in the future.

If I was going to be king I would like to be the first. There are so many interesting names to choose from. How about Tristan, Frank, Timothy, Gerry, Caelan or Jason? If you do get chatting to some royals, you might like to mention this to them.

So already we are learning about the third Edward who EDWARD IIIwas a very romantic king. We know this because he imprisoned his mother in a stronghold for the rest of her life.  He also invented a law called the Gallic Law which made him King of France and gave him the right to invade it ANYTIME he liked.

(Have you noticed I have found out how to write around the pictures – I do hope you are impressed, I am).

King John II of France
King John II of France

In order to placate Edward, the French King sent him a box of new tennis balls. When the parcel was opened the Prince of Wales who was present, decided to invade straight away.

Black Prince

This Prince was the memorable “All Black Prince”  (even his underwear was black) and the war was called the 100 years war, as the troops signed on for 100 years or the duration, whichever was the longest.

BLACK PRINCE

The All Black Prince then began the battle of Crecy where he SLAUGHTERED about a third of the French nobility.

And I will leave you on that cheerful note until Friday. (Oh and apologies to any French people reading this).

4 thoughts on “COUNTING AND EDWARD III

  1. Another enjoyable post – thank you and yes your images look great surrounded by those wordy things.

    As for visits it does get a bit complicated when you start to look into it I think. There are two levels visits and views and some returning visitors don’t count again – or something like that. It does tell you all about it somewhere but I couldn’t find the link –

    I copied this explanation a while ago – I don’t know how much it helps or whether it makes a difference:-

    The two main units of traffic measurement are views and unique visitors. A view is counted when a visitor loads or reloads a page. A visitor is counted when we see a user or browser for the first time in a given period (day, week, month).

    You may notice that weekly unique visitors is less than the sum of daily visitors for the same week. This occurs when the same visitor appears multiple times during the week.

    You may also notice that your visitor count lags behind your views count. This is due to the way we are currently crunching the numbers. Typically a view is reported within five minutes, while it can take up to two hours to report new visitors.

    Like

  2. HI Lucinda, This post came through to my email inbox as a WordPress announcement. As far as I know I don’t get it as a FB thing at all. I tend to read them all then carry on with other things. I shall comment from now on. I like them all , they’re very good and will certainly help me out when I run out of conversation at dinner parties…. probably in 2050!
    Hope that helps.
    Gabi

    Like

    • Yes Gabi it does help thank you. It comes through on my time line and as a link on Twitter, but I’m just trying to do some research here. At the rate we are going we should get up to the present day Royals some time in May. I should have spun it out longer!!

      Like

      • Diana i have just seen this, it was hiding somewhere! Sorry. It is all still a fog to me. WordPress tell me I have hundreds of followers but then the figures don’t match the stats. Oh well, I could spend days searching this site and I am far too busy. At least it is getting out there!

        Like

Leave a Reply

