It’s Friday and history marches on and on and on!

I had thought of something brilliantly witty and thrilling to write at the beginning of today’s blog, but do you think I can remember what I was going to say? The moment I stepped out of the shower my ideas dissolved with the steam. So, no clever comments from me this morning, you’ll have to manage without them somehow.

So, having spoiled your weekend, let’s go back in time to what happened when King Ethelred died. [big ahhhhh there].

KING CANUTE 2

He was succeeded by King Canute who had set out from Norway to collect Danegeld, landed by mistake at Penge and so of course, he became king.

KING CANUTE

He was not however a memorable king and when he died his kingdom was divided into two…

EDWARD THE CONFESSOR HOLY

…. and he was succeeded by Edward the Confessor. Apart from confessing to these and other crimes, Edward the Confessor is remembered for contributing to the continued disintegration of royal power in England. However, because he was SO PIOUS AND SO GOOD, he was made a saint by Pope Alexander III and is the patron saint of kings, difficult marriages and separated spouses. He was also the patron saint of England until STRANGELY…

EDWARD THE CONFESSOR

… and on that exciting cliffhanger I will leave you until Monday. Have a great weekend!

 

3 thoughts on “It’s Friday and history marches on and on and on!

  1. Loving these posts, even without knowing that era’s British history, or perhaps because of it. Intriguing enough to want to know more. Can’t wait til you get to the Tudors!

    Getting back in the shower next time might bring back the thought you had there. Or that’s what memory experts say, but who knows if they’re just making up stuff? Happens to the best of us. Forgetting things & making stuff up, I mean. Recalling is probably more likely to wake you from a sound sleep at 3 a.m., but I hope not.

    Like

  2. Problem is Claire, if I stay in the shower long enough for my memory to return I will end up with even more wrinkly skin, and I have enough craters below my fringe as it is! 🙂 Hopefully I will have another creative, world shattering thought by Monday but that’s doubtful! Glad you are enjoying the true and quite accurate history and thanks for the feedback, appreciated.

    Like

Leave a Reply

